View settings

Font size:
Site colours


The city of Minsk is the capital of the Republic of BelarusState system: The Republic of Belarus is a unitary democratic social legal state. The State power in the Republic of Belarus is carried out on the basis of its division into legislative, executive and judicial.

The official languages ​​are Belarusian, Russian.

The geographical position of Belarus allows us to speak about a favorable economic-geographical and geopolitical situation in the eastern part of Europe. Belarus is located at the intersection of the main railways and highways, oil and gas and product pipelines, communication systems between Western Europe and the regions of Russia, and the countries of Asia. Through the territory of Belarus there passes one of the main Eurasian routes, including the shortest routes from the Central and Eastern regions of Russia to the countries of Western Europe, as well as between the Baltic and Black Seas.

Its territory is 207.6 thousand km² 

Administrative division: The Republic of Belarus is territorially divided into 6 regions with administrative centers Minsk, Brest, Vitebsk, Gomel, Grodno and Mogilev, which include 118 administrative districts. In its territory there are 110 cities and towns, including 15 cities with a population of more than 100 thousand people, 103 urban-type settlements. 

The city of Minsk is the capital of the Republic of Belarusм

The capital of the Republic of Belarus is the city of Minsk. 

Minsk is older than many European cities. It was first mentioned in 1067 in the chronicle "The Tale of Bygone Years". On January 12, 1591, the city received a coat of arms: on a blue field there is a female figure (the Virgin Mary) between two angels and cherubs. 

The city was repeatedly devastated by wars, epidemics and fires. And each time, thanks to the talent and diligence of the people, Minsk was reborn from ruins and ashes, becoming even more beautiful. 

Minsk has a convenient geographical location. This is a kind of "cultural crossroads", where two civilizations meet, two cultures - western and eastern. 

Historically, well-known trade routes passed through Minsk. The distance to the capitals of the neighboring states: to Moscow - 720 km., Kiev - 579 km., Vilnius - 185 km., Riga - 470 km., Warsaw - 550 km. 

Minsk is located on the south-eastern slopes of the Minsk Upland. The climate is moderately continental with considerable influence of the Atlantic air 

The system of the city self-government bodies is formed by the Minsk City Council of Deputies, bodies of territorial public self-government. 

The residents of the city exercise their power directly through local referendums, elections of the City Council deputies, local assemblies, as well as through representative and other bodies in the forms and limits determined by law. 

The administrative and territorial division of the city is represented by 9 districts: Zavodskoy, Leninsky, Moskovsky, Oktyabrsky, Partizansky, Pervomaisky, Sovietsky, Frunzensky, Tsentralny. 

Minsk is the most industrially developed region of the country. In the capital, one-fifth of all industrial production assets of the Republic of Belarus are concentrated. In the city there are more than four thousand organizations producing industrial products.